Book Reviews and Book Giveaways

I’m starting out a new year of blogs with not one, but two book reviews and giveaways: a fiction and non-fiction book. I think you’ll enjoy both of these books. I did. Read on to see how to enter the book giveaway for these books.I’m starting out a new year of blogs with not one, but two book reviews and giveaways: a fiction and non-fiction book. I think you’ll enjoy both of these books. I did. Read on to see how to enter these book giveaways.

Fiction Book Giveaway

http://www.rebeccabarlowjordan.com/book-reviews-book-giveawaysA PromiseTo Return, by Elizabeth Byler Younts, is Elizabeth’s debut novel, a historical Amish romance set in World War II. I’ve always enjoyed this time period of historical fiction, but this story gave a fresh perspective about how war might have affected Amish lives.

Elizabeth’s own Amish roots gave both credibility and believability to this passionate and warm story of a romance caught in a world of conflicting beliefs. The drafting of Henry Mast stirs up even deeper struggles and questions than “to fight or not to fight?” For Miriam Coblentz, the answer to that question could mean a difficult choice regarding her roots and the man she loves: to leave or to love?

I enjoyed how the author created believable and compelling characters that captured my emotions from the very beginning, transporting me into another time and place with great skill. I love reading good fiction, and I look forward to more stories from this talented author. A great debut novel.

* I received this book from Howard Books in return for my honest review. No monetary payment was involved. And I chose to pass on this book in these book drawing giveaways.

Non-fiction Book Giveaway

http://www.rebeccabarlowjordan.com/book-reviews-book-giveawaysLast year I reviewed another of Linda Evans Shepherd’s books. Today’s review and book giveaway Is for her book, Experiencing God’s Presence, Learning to Listen While You Pray. I enjoyed reading this book because of my own passion in both writing and sharing with others about finding intimacy with God. And I believe Linda shares that same passion in this book. She combines personal experiences from hers and others’ lives, practical helps on praying and listening to God, and even creates fictional, but believable details in her accompanying biblical stories that bring the characters to life.

But the thing I like most about this and others of Linda’s books are the Scripture based principles and suggested prayers she offers to help others experience God’s presence without hindrances. The prayers are not presented as formulaic or “magical.” Rather they serve as a starting point to increase intimacy, applying the Scripture itself, moving us into the realm of learning how to approach God, to listen, and also to obey. Along with her instruction Linda includes wisdom from others as well: authors like Max Lacado, Beth Moore, and Stormie Omartian.

Linda is a woman of bold faith who takes God at His Word, and recognizes the need and power of both talking–and listening–to God. Through this book she will encourage readers to experience a deeper relationship with the One who wants our fellowship, too.

* I received this book from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing, in exchange for my honest review. No monetary payment was involved. And I chose to pass on this book as well in these book drawing giveaways.

How To Enter the Book Giveaways

To enter the book giveaway, please leave an appropriate comment below as to why you’d like the book(s). The contest is open only to U.S. residents. I’ll announce the winner in 2 weeks. After being contacted, if winner does not respond within a week, I will draw another name.

A New Year’s Prayer

Lord, the past is gone, and we cannot hold onto it or take it with us–only the memories you’ve given us to share. In this New Year, fill our lives and our hearts with all that is good and worthy of praise, that we might honor You in every word, thought, and deed. Thank You for another year to live for You, to love You, and to love others. May we learn from our mistakes in the past, and press forward to embrace the blessings and tasks daily You’ve given to each one. Thank You that Your steadfast love never changes, and Your mercies never end. Great is Your faithfulness! (Lamentations 3:22-23).

Day-votedly Yours,

Rebecca

It’s Your Turn

Please leave your comments below. Your words might encourage someone today. You won’t be hounded, prodded, or automatically added to my mailing list if you leave a comment. Feel free to email this Christian blog to someone or to re-post on FacebookTwitter, or other social media, using the buttons below, or to “like” it below or on my Facebook networked blog. If you want to re-post any of my blogs on your own blog or website, please contact me for permission first. And I’d love for you to sign up for my blog/newsletter and updates at the top of this website page/sidebar if you’ve not already done so. That way, I can drop heart to heart encouragement into your e-mail box weekly, as well as notify you of any new updates, specials, or contests.

Now when you sign up, you will automatically receive a download of “20 Day-votional Truths To Live By,” some of my original quotes to inspire you. Your e-mail address will never be sold or given to anyone!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Be Sociable, Share!

    Comments

    34 Responses to “Book Reviews and Book Giveaways”

    1. Donna Bockelkamp on January 6th, 2014 10:25 am

      I would love to have bothe the books you are giving away. so I have put both ofn my book list of books i will obtain.
      I am a growing christian and i want to live learn and be in God’s presense in every moment of my life.. So the book Being in God’s presense i would be so honored to have this.

      I to love the World World II history and times. My husband and i wold so much enjoy this book. !!!!!!!

    2. Terri A. Walton on January 6th, 2014 10:30 am

      I would like both books

    3. Alice White on January 6th, 2014 11:03 am

      Thank you for this kind and generous offer of the 2 books. I, too, love to read Christian historical fiction that is well written. And I teach / lead small group Bible studies — so am always on the look-out for new and interesting information to share with these folks and others.
      I surely enjoy your messages, including the series of 25 prayers for Christmas. May God richly bless you as you bless others with your writing and sharing from your heart. Happy New Year!!! Alice

    4. Nancy Turner on January 6th, 2014 11:05 am

      We live among the Amish people here in Missouri, and I appreciate their way of living, their kindness and enjoy reading all books about them and their way of living. We are blessed to have neighbors such as they are………So would love to have the book to read and share later with others….

      The non-fiction book has many great contributors, and I know would be something I could learn from, that could help me grow in various areas of my life………Would be honored to obtain it………Nancy

    5. Lori Knutson on January 6th, 2014 11:07 am

      Books based on Amish people and anything WW II are two of my absolute favorite subjects! I just love learning about their lives. Combining both of them in ONE book!!! If I don’t win it-I will HAVE to go buy it!
      In this new year, one of things I am desiring with all my heart and asking God daily as I read the Word and pray is to HEAR God’s will for me and am asking Him for His help to OBEY what I hear. I was so excited to see this as the focus on the second free book! It’s exactly one of my main desires right now!
      Both excellent choices!

    6. Vanessa Cherry on January 6th, 2014 11:50 am

      Thank you for the opportunity to win these books. I love reading Christian Fiction books. I always learn a spiritual principle, even from a fiction story. I would love the book on prayer because I need to grow in this area of my Christian life. I will add it to my “wish list”.

    7. Sheri Price on January 6th, 2014 12:44 pm

      I enjoy historical fiction and this looks like a good book. The book on prayer…it sounds exactly what I need…I pray a lot but don’t listen very much. Perhaps this would give me a fresh insight on how to “be still and know He is God”! Thanks for your generosity.

    8. Linda Evans Shepherd on January 6th, 2014 1:28 pm

      Hi Rebecca,
      So appreciate your kind words about my book. It was a book that was great fun to write and it’s so fun to see that people are using it to draw nearer to God.

      If readers want to go to the book’s webpage, they can go to: http://www.ExperienceGodBook.com.

      Blessings to you and your readers!
      Love,
      Linda Evans Shepherd

    9. Brenda Nixon, M.A. on January 6th, 2014 3:08 pm

      Hi Rebecca,
      You don’t have to enter me in this wonderful & generous giveaway. I just want to encourage & thank you for supporting our Linda Evans shepherd and debut author Elizabeth Younts.
      For your readers, today (January 6) is recognized by the Amish as Olde Christmas. What it is & how it is celebrated, is the subject of my Beyond Buggies and Bonnets blog this week.

      Blessings on you,
      Brenda

    10. Kathy Collard Miller on January 6th, 2014 3:19 pm

      Hi Rebecca, I already have Linda’s book and it’s wonderful. I know whoever wins the book will be inspired in their faith in God. Don’t need to enter me into the contest for either but I wanted to stop by and say hi. You’re always such an encourager and supporter of us all.

    11. Suzanne Aukema on January 6th, 2014 3:28 pm

      My husband and I are going through some trials, that have been very trying on both of us. To be honest, one of my struggles is being still when in prayer to hear God, to know what He wants me to do. I would so love to have this book to learn how to listen to God without any hindrances. Thank you for this opportunity. God bless you Rebecca.

    12. June Hopkins on January 6th, 2014 3:57 pm

      I really enjoy Christian fiction! And I have recently discovered Linda Evans Shepherd…….I am very inspired by her writing.

    13. Rebecca Barlow Jordan on January 6th, 2014 4:35 pm

      Linda, I’m so glad you stopped by. I appreciate your leaving the link to the book’s webpage that I absentmindedly neglected. I know others will be blessed by your book (s).

    14. Rebecca Barlow Jordan on January 6th, 2014 4:37 pm

      Thanks, Brenda! Your site is certainly an inspiring one to learn more about the Amish–firsthand! Thanks for stopping by and for your encouragement.

    15. Rebecca Barlow Jordan on January 6th, 2014 4:38 pm

      Thanks, Kathy, for stopping by–and for your encouraging comments.

    16. Rebecca Barlow Jordan on January 6th, 2014 4:41 pm

      And thanks to all of you who are taking the time to leave your comments and enter the book drawing giveaways. Remember, there will be two drawings–two winners, one for each book. :-) May the Lord bless you!

    17. Kathy Stucker on January 6th, 2014 8:10 pm

      What great combination! A chance to read an author’s first novel! And a new book I have been anticipating from Linda Evans Shepherd! “When you don’t know what to Pray” changed my life ! And I can’t wait for more insight from her!

    18. james ade owolabi on January 6th, 2014 10:07 pm

      What is the title

    19. Mary T on January 6th, 2014 10:09 pm

      Hi Rebecca! Happy Monday! I just wanted to start by saying that each day during my quiet time I read your “Daily in His Presence” and it truly brings my conversation with my Heavenly Father to a meaningful dialogue after reading my Bible and then just having quiet rest in Him. So thanks for those!
      I don’t read much fiction but this book certainly seems like it might be a good read. I am totally interested in the book “Experience His Presence”. I love my time with my Lord and love new devotionals or books that lead me closer to Him. Thanks for all the inspiration you share in so many ways! God bless!

    20. Holly McEvoy on January 6th, 2014 10:14 pm

      Hi! I would be interested in the non-fiction book for many reasons. Learning to listen while you pray is what interests me the most. I would like to learn for myself and for others in my gospel community…and beyond, how to experience greater intimacy with God. ;)

    21. Angie on January 6th, 2014 11:08 pm

      I would love to win a c copy of ‘Experiencing God’s Presence, Learning to Listen While You Pray’! I need help in the area of prayer!

    22. Godfrey Warren on January 8th, 2014 4:52 am

      Reviews – Very helpful
      Exceptional – Would like to read them.
      Books – Look good
      Expectations – Now high
      Comments – Thanks for the offers
      Creative – And help productive
      Anticipation – Eager to read them

      Godfrey Warren

    23. Marty Brooks on January 8th, 2014 8:19 am

      Rebecca,
      I have loved you and your writings for about 14 years now. My first read started with the little book (cannot remember the name) that had a picture of a B&B in Gatlinburg, TN. That is where I found the book.
      I had just lost both my parents in 2000. In that little book I found simple words of compassion, words to give me strength but most of all how I could find peace and comfort in the words of our Lord. . .the Bible. I have been a Christian my entire life and I am an early senior. But until I lost my parents my love of the Lord changed. I am closer and hope to become even closer to Him in 2014
      Thank you Rebecca
      By the way I would love a book.
      Marty Brooks
      Nashville, TN

    24. Rebecca Barlow Jordan on January 8th, 2014 4:44 pm

      Thanks for those words of encouragement, Marty.You must be referring to one of my earlier books, At Home in My Heart, Preparing a Place for His Presence. It’s the one with the B&B on the front. I still sell that book on my website!So glad it ministered to you.

    25. Rebecca Barlow Jordan on January 8th, 2014 4:50 pm

      Thanks for those encouraging words, Godfrey!

    26. Rebecca Barlow Jordan on January 8th, 2014 4:51 pm

      Mary, thanks for your encouraging words.

    27. Katie J on January 9th, 2014 2:46 pm

      I would love to win A Promise To Return. Thanks for the giveaway, this book is on my to read list and would love to win it.

    28. Kathy Kirkpatrick on January 9th, 2014 8:11 pm

      These books sound so interesting. I love to read Christian fiction and non fiction . Thanks for the giveaway.

    29. Latulitea Aho on January 11th, 2014 5:55 pm

      I am 20 years old, a full time college student at the University of Washington in Seattle, studying Anthropology. I rededicated my life to Christ November 4th, 2012. Since then i’ve been searching for ways to have a closer connection to the LORD… Both of my parents are not saved. One is a Bahai’i and the other strayed from her relationship with the LORD when she moved to Seattle. Each time I pray I hope that I am growing closer to HIM not just for my relationship but for the salvation of my parents. I want to hear better from the LORD when I pray. Seeing your Book “Learning to listen while you pray” spoke volumes, because I’ve been trying to tune in with GOD’s voice. Winning your book would be an awesome way to hear your testimony and hopefully see new insight into how to better hear the LORD’s voice.

    30. Rebecca Barlow Jordan on January 13th, 2014 10:13 am

      Latulitea, you and your parents will be in our prayers. Thanks for stopping by and entering the giveaway.

    31. Gail Caudle on January 13th, 2014 10:57 am

      I would love to receive both of these because I truly love reading especially about how God is working in others lives. Fiction or non fiction — soemtimes it takes both to get some of us to totally understand God’s grace for us all to behold. I have attended chruch all my life and became a Christian at 13, but did not trruly understand how much God loves us until attending a women’s retreat a few years ago. His grace overflowed on me that weekend and since then I try to read and study His word more than ever now.

    32. Marie Thompson on February 4th, 2014 3:26 pm

      It will be good for me to receive some encouragement now. My mom died last year, I lost my job last year, and I have lots of bills and unemployment is barely enough,

      Please send me lots of encouragement.

      Thank you

    33. Rebecca Barlow Jordan on February 5th, 2014 9:22 am

      Marie, thanks for stopping by. It sounds like you have been through some rough times. You are in our prayers, and we pray these blogs and God’s Word will help to encourage you. One of our prayers for you–and others who comment with needs–is: “May our Lord Jesus himself and God our Father, who loved us and by his grace gave us eternal encouragement and good hope, encourage your hearts and strengthen you in every good deed and word” (2 Thessalonians 2:16-17).

    34. Sharon on March 10th, 2014 7:22 am

      I love to read. When I had no where else to turn. I found God as my source. And received the hope I needed to carry on. Now God is my hope and there is no going back.

    Got something to say?